Monday, October 17, 2016

Letter V Classical Radio this week

This week, I trade time slots with Mark Lederway, my fellow WDCE highbrow. On Tuesday I’ll survey new and recent classical recordings – Brahms from violinist Joshua Bell, cellist Steven Isserlis and pianist Jeremy Denk; Mozart from fortepianist Kristian Bezuidenhout and the Freiburg Baroque Orchestra; Stravinsky from JoAnn Falletta and the Virginia Arts Festival Chamber Players; Tchaikovsky from Vasily Petrenko abd the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic; Debussy from Michael Tilson Thomas and the San Francisco Symphony Orchestra.

Oct. 18
noon-4 p.m. EDT
1600-2000 UTC/GMT
WDCE, University of Richmond
90.1 FM

Debussy: “Jeux”

San Francisco Symphony Orchestra/
Michael Tilson Thomas
(SFS Media)

Piano Concerto No. 12
in A major, K. 414
Kristian Bezuidenhout, fortepiano
Freiburg Baroque Orchestra/
Gottfried von der Goltz
(Harmonia Mundi)

Vijay Iyer: “Run”
J.S. Bach: Suite in C major, BWV 1009 – Prelude
Matt Haimovitz, cello

Dan Visconti: “Black Bend”
Fifth House Ensemble

“Märchenbilder,” Op. 113
Jodi Levitz, viola
Eric Zivian, fortepiano

Brahms: Piano Trio
in B major, Op. 8
(original version)
Joshua Bell, violin
Steven Isserlis, cello
Jeremy Denk, piano
(Sony Classical)

Stravinsky: “L’histoire du soldat” Suite
Virginia Arts Festival Chamber Players/
JoAnn Falletta

Tchaikovsky: Symphony
No. 2 in C minor
(“Little Russian”)
Royal Liverpool Philharmonic/
Vasily Petrenko

George Onslow:
Quintet in D minor, Op. 45
Elan Quintet

Ginastera: Harp Concerto
Yolanda Kondanassis, harp
Oberlin Orchestra/Raphael Jiménez
(Oberlin Music)