Tuesday, October 7, 2014

Letter V Classical Radio this week

A show full of new recordings, including a potent reading of Beethoven’s “Emperor” Concerto by Leif Ove Andsnes, the Violin Concerto that Richmond-bred Mason Bates composed for Anne Akiko Meyers and piano discoveries from Tchaikovsky, Wagner and Bach-by-way-of-Brahms . . .

Oct. 9
noon-2 p.m. EDT
1600-1800 UTC/GMT
WDCE, University of Richmond
90.1 FM

J.S. Bach: Partita in D minor, BWV 1004 – Chaconne
(arranged for piano left-hand by Johannes Brahms)
Leon Fleisher, piano

Bates: Violin Concerto
Anne Akiko Meyers, violin
London Symphony Orchestra/Leonard Slatkin
(eOne Music)

Tchaikovsky: Dumka in C minor (“Russian Rustic Scene”),
Op. 59
Lada Valešová, piano

Wagner: “Sonata for Mathilde Wesendonck”
Llyr Williams, piano
(Signum Classics)

Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 5 in E flat major (“Emperor”)
Leif Ove Andsnes,
piano & director
Mahler Chamber Orchestra
(Sony Classical)

“Five Sheep, Four Goats”
Danish String Quartet