Tuesday, May 31, 2016

Letter V Classical Radio this week

The show moves to later in the day on Thursdays from June 2 through Aug. 18.

In the wake of the sad news that Martha Argerich’s festival in Lugano, Switzerland, is shutting down after this summer, we’ll sample some of the finest live recordings made at this showcase of unusually empathetic performances
of both familiar and rarely heard piano and chamber repertory.

Argerich performs with pianist Yefim Bronfman,
the Capuçon brothers – violinist Renaud and cellist Gautier – and other gifted musicians who have gathered around the famed pianist during the 15-year run of this remarkable event. 

June 2
4-7 p.m. EDT
2000-2300 UTC/GMT
WDCE, University of Richmond
90.1 FM

Prokofiev: Symphony No. 1 (“Classical”)
(transcription by Rikuya Terashima)
Martha Argerich &
Yefim Bronfman, pianos
(EMI Classics)

Beethoven: Violin Sonata in G major, Op. 30, No. 3
Renaud Capuçon, violin
Martha Argerich, piano (Warner Classics)

Carlos Guastavino: “Tres Romances Argentinos”
Martha Argerich & Mauricio Vallina, pianos
(EMI Classics)

Mendelssohn: Piano Trio
in D minor, Op. 49
Martha Argerich, piano
Renaud Capuçon, violin
Gautier Capuçon, cello
(EMI Classics)

Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 20 in D minor, K. 466
Martha Argerich, piano
Orchestra della Svizzera Italiana/
Jacek Kaspszyk
(Warner Classics)

Liszt: “Concerto pathétique”
Martha Argerich & Lilya Zilberstein, pianos
(Warner Classics)

Schumann: Piano Quintet
in E flat major, Op. 44
Martha Argerich, piano
Dora Schwarzberg & Renaud Capuçon, violins
Nora Romanoff, viola
Mark Drobinsky, cello
(EMI Classics)

Ravel: “La Valse”
Martha Argerich &
Sergio Tiempo, pianos
(Warner Classics)